Quinta do Bomfim
The tour begins in a small museum which tells de story of the property, the family and the wines. A collection of early 20th century photographs of the Douro and documents record the history of the Quinta and the region. Visitors may choose between three vineyard walks which afford excellent views of the surrounding mountain vineyards, some with dry stone terraces built by hand in the 18th and 19th centuries. If visitors so desire they can order a picnic basket and enjoy a meal during their walk amongst the vineyards.
Visit includes the old lodge built in 1896. This vast vat and barrel cellar, with its extraordinarily complex roof-structure, has been used for over one hundred years to hold all the Port Wines from every harvest at the estate before they are taken downriver to Vila Nova de Gaia for further maturing.
During the harvest, visitors can see the grapes being received at the winery and Port being ade in the lagares. At ohter times of the year, a short film shows the winery in operation as well as traditional trading at other Symington family vineyards.
The family-made Ports and Douro DOC wines may be sampled with guided tastings in several languages by knowledgeable guides in the spacious and attractive tasting room. There is an adjoining terrace with wonderful views of Douro River and the surrounding vineyards. Visitors an pass through the visitor centre where a wide selection of Port and dry Douro wines made by the Symington are available.